Living on Borrowed Time

To be living on borrowed time (Idiom): When someone has continued to live or to do something for longer than expected and is likely to die or be stopped from doing it soon.

I have to say I find the idiom quite interesting. I mean what if I am literally living on borrowed time! What if I am the collective result of what could have been extra time for my ancestors on earth. Years accumulated to form…my life.

The idea that today may be my last day didn’t scare me. It has definitely inspired my attempts to be more intentional with my day. Also, the idea that my day is motivated by fear didn’t sit right with me.

But the concept of living on borrowed time doesn’t only inspire intentionality; it invites more gratefulness. Gratefulness for the time borrowed. It demands honoring. It demands reflection.

Would you spend your time differently, if you knew your next minute could have meant a one-last goodbye kiss by a loved one to them, but the minute was given to you instead?

Would you spend your time differently, if you knew that in the next hour they could have finished that painting that you found covered in dust in your old family house?

Would you spend your time differently, if you knew the next day, month, and year were gifted to you because your presence was worth it? Because You are worth it. Would you invite more love to your days? Maybe give regret the wrong address?

“Time is unreal!” I used to say that when I spent hours doing things I really enjoyed and I was passionate about diluting the guilt when other mundane things demanded my time as well. And maybe time is unreal. Maybe time is magic. Magic that was passed to us from our very first ancestors as their last precious gift to us.

Magic that is flavored with hope. Hope in what is next. Hope in the turn around the corner. Hope that tomorrow you can try again and again.

So, I am living on borrowed time. I am saying it not to stir a sense of urgency within myself. Instead, I am saying it hoping to invite a sense of mindfulness and respect to my day.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started